Fort Lauderdale, FL – November 12, 2017 –The National Marine Propeller Association (NMPA) wrapped up its 2017 Annual Convention on Saturday November 11th in Las Vegas with a challenge to members to address general and technological global trends by breaking free of conventional ways of thinking; announcements on NMPA Certification Continuing Education requirements and two days of education, information and product/service exhibits.  Keynote speaker Bill Yeargin, CEO of Correct Craft, speaking at the Annual Meeting of the Association, noted that it is almost impossible for incumbents to disrupt their own industry, but that it may be the key to capitalizing on the significant and inevitable changes that will create ‘incredible abundance’ in the future.

Attendees came from across the United States, Canada and internationally from as far as Australia and Norway. David De Witt, President of NMPA said, “As a small trade association that represents the propeller industry, our goal is for this Annual Convention to be the best place to learn about and share knowledge on all things related to propeller manufacturing, repair and tooling.” DeWitt added, “Based on the feedback we received again this year in a live poll conducted at the end of the Convention, we have achieved our goal!”

The NMPA 2017-2018 Board of Directors Election was also held at the Annual Meeting with two new members being elected to serve and several others re-elected to the Board. Joining the Board of Directors are Don MacRae of Frank & Jimmie’s Propeller in Fort Lauderdale, Florida and Scott Knutson of Props Ahoy in Union Grove, Wisconsin. Stew Foster of Prop Masters in Alberta, Canada was re-elected to serve as NMPA Vice President; Darren Prouty of Precision Propeller in Spokane, Washington was elected to serve as Treasurer; and Rick Licare of Rundquist Propeller was elected to his position as a NMPA Director. NMPA president De Witt welcomed the new members and expressed his thanks to the Board for their continued support and dedication to NMPA. DeWitt also thanked retiring Board Members Jimmie Harrison of Frank & Jimmie’s Propeller and Paul Fox of General Propeller for their service to the NMPA.  All newly elected members will serve a two-year term on the Board.

The NMPA Board of Directors for 2017 – 2018 are as follows:


President – David DeWitt, Mercury Propellers – Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Vice President – Stew Foster, Prop Masters – Airdrie, Alberta, Canada
Treasurer – Darren Prouty, Precision Propeller – Spokane, Washington
Secretary – Mike Jones, Coastal Propeller Service – Bridge City, Texas
Board of Directors
Scott Baumann, Baumann Marine – Houston, Texas
Marcus Clements, PowerTech! Propellers – Shreveport, Louisiana
Scott Knutson, Props Ahoy – Union Grove, Wisconsin
Rick Licare, Rundquist Propeller Tools – Naples, Florida
Gary Linden, Linden Propeller – Dubuque, Iowa
Don MacRae, Frank & Jimmie’s Propeller – Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Kevin Mitchell, Michigan Wheel Marine – Grand Rapids, Michigan
Phil Stephanuik, Turning Point Propellers – Jacksonville, Florida

About NMPA

NMPA is a not-for-profit marine trade association with member companies engaged in the business of propeller repair, or providing products and services to the propeller repair industry. Founded in 1992, the association promotes professionalism through training and certification, fosters growth through business development via events such as its Annual Convention, and generally represents the business interests of its members.